Physio Sessions Online
Dr. online consultation
+91 9910302876

RC Tear

The rotator cuff is a group of muscles which work together to provide the stability to shoulder joint, helping to control the joint during rotation (hence the name).


The rotator cuff muscles include 4 main muscles.


  • Supraspinatus
  • Infraspinatus
  • Teres Minor
  • Subscapularis

Due to the function of these muscles, sports which involve a lot of shoulder rotation – for example, bowling in cricket, pitching in baseball, swimming, javelin throw, basketball, volleyball – often put the rotator cuff muscles under a lot of stress. Problems with the rotator cuff muscles can be classified into two categories – Tears of the tendons/muscles and inflamation of structures in the joint.


Read More